INSANITY

Hello Everyone!

So you know that one saying “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results.” from Albert Einstein?  Well, I couldn’t really get that out of my head.  For the past 4/5 months (since getting back to school) I have gained some (unwanted 12lbs) weight.  It’s not that I’m worried about a number – but it just doesn’t feel right!! And although I am very active, it is my eating habits that aren’t ideal. I either eat wayyy to much or not enough.  Which is not a healthy mindset & my body obviously hasn’t liked it.  

Oh, did I mention I’m going to Miami for spring break and umm………..I would like to feel good on the beach ;).  That being said, my boyfriend and I are doing Insanity since he isn’t exactly into the gym thing and it is convenient in the morning for us to do.  Plus, I love the Intense type working out and all that jazz.

So, to stay committed  motivated & to share my journey I am going to write about my experience and results from Insanity.   I do have a little predicament and would like your advice – after the first month I will be going to Miami for 2 weeks.  Do I just bring the DVD and continue  pounding it out, or wait until I return to start Month 2?  

I will be documenting my meals, workouts & stats on here.  Still didn’t get a measuring tape…so soon to come.

On the nutrition plan, it actually suggests eating 40% calories from carbs.  This was something I was shocked at first.  But, being on more carbs felt really good.  Kinda scared me I had such mixed feelings about carbs ( check yourself if you do…. good carbs aren’t the enemy).  Just goes to show you even though I seem to eat “healthy” I fall victim to labeling food.  Interesting. The Elite Nutrition plan (comes with Insanity) suggests 5 meals a day.  I am going with the 1,500 – 1,600 calorie range since I am pretty sedentary (sitting in class / doing homework) and want quicker results before Miami.  

Day 1:

  • M1: French toast with Ezekiel Bread egg whites & berries on top + black coffee (300)
  • M2: 1C Kashi GoLean Crunch Cereal + 1C Almond Milk + 1/4 C NF Cottage cheese ( 255)
  • M3: 4oz Salmon, Asparagus, on top of a bed of lettuce (370)
  • M4: 1C Kashi GoLean Crunch Cereal + 1C Almond Milk + 1/2 Cup Texas Caviar ( 280)
  • M5: Marinara + Zucchini + Textured Vegetable Protein + Soy Cheese + 3 Cups Lowfat Popcorn (340 calories)
  • Totals: 1,550

Weight (2/23): 160.4

Workout: Cardio Pylos + taught bootcamp at UO Rec Center

If anyone has any advice on Insanity, share your results, or want to share your experience I would LOVE to hear!!

xo

Leave a comment